The Case (or lack thereof) of Home Theatre.

– adapted from an article written by DKLo, one of Toronto’s finest food-blogger, the writer for various foody sites including http://dklomakan.wordpress.com

As I stood gazing at the smorgasbord of options beckoning me from my 30-something collection of factory-sealed Blu-ray collection as an accumulation of 3 month of not entering my home theatre, something happened in me. Something that hasn’t happened for a while but I knew to be inevitable from time to time.

I just want to watch a movie in an informal way.

I don’t know what it is about viewing movies in a non-dedicated are on a tiny 55″ LCD TV and a soundbar that appeals to me in such a periodic way. I generally am not too big a fan of this viewing area, but once in a while a little switch is flicked inside my head, and I am compelled to watch a movie or two (or in this case, 30) and just simply watch the movies in the most simplistic way.

Digressing a little, could you imagine if I could actually find out whose mystical finger flicked that switch to the ‘on’ position? It’d be a marketer’s paradise for soundbar manufacturers everywhere. Bose would hunt my services down.

Anyway. As I proceeded to wolf down my stack of movies (with my daughter looking at me, bemused that I couldn’t wait to a movie in the family room, let alone 30), I remembered what I’ve heard many people (including myself) say about these type of setup and others like it. “It’s not Home Theatre”, “How could they call THAT Home Theatre”, or even “I’m Home Theatre designer and calibrator so I should be embarassed to be caught enjoying movies using that stuff”. I then started to wonder, why that is the case.

Sure, this so-called Home Theatre is no more than an enterainment centre and is a laughing stock of Home Theatre purist anywhere. And yes, it’s sad that the prevalence of these types of set up has reduced Home Theatre in the eyes of many uninformed consumers to a TV with some kind of audio system added. But it’s still GOOD. It’s not good HOME THEATRE, it’s not even a home theatre, but it’s still good setup, for a family room kind of way.

In my opinion, there’s nothing wrong with proclaiming that you enjoy something that’s not authentic. As long as you don’t delude yourself into thinking that that tiny 55″ TV and a soundbar setup is a home theatre, there’s nothing to be ashamed of in liking it.

Now shut up and let me finish the other 29 movies.

David Susilo, PhD
THX, ISF, Control4 Certified Professional; CEDIA Trainer; HAA and CEA Member

Editor, Reviewer, and Contributor for QAV TED publication, AUVI Indonesia and DownUnder Audio

follow my Twitter @davidsusilo

20130104-130828.jpg

 

follow my Tweet @davidsusilo
read more of my articles at www.downunderaudio.com and www.tedpublications.com
and LIKE my sponsor at www.facebook.com/updatetvandstereo

about me: www.updatetvandstereo.com/Calibration_ep_43.html

 

One response to “The Case (or lack thereof) of Home Theatre.

Leave a Reply

